» General information
» History
» Information about regions
» Main cities
» Culture
» Nature
» Geography

» Cultural & Eco-Tourism
» Adventure Tourism
» Recreation Tourism
» Special Interest Tourism
» Business Tourism
» Photo Gallery
» Tour Operators of Kyrgyzstan
» State Agency of Tourism
Travel Info
» Visa & registration
» Accommodation
» Places to eat
» Transport
» Communications and the media
» Money
» Other
  Kyrgyzstan » Kyrgyzstan » Main cities

Main cities


Bishkek is the capital of Kyrgyzstan. It has population of approximately 1,000 000. Originally founded in 1878 as the Russian fortress of Pishpek, between 1926 and 1991 it was known as Frunze, after the Bolshevik military leader Mikhail Frunze. The name is thought to derive from a Kyrgyz word for a churn used to make…


Tokmok is a city of about 75,000 (2005) in northern Kyrgyzstan, east of the country’s capital of Bishkek. Its geographical location is 42°50N, 75°17’E; its altitude is 816 m above sea level. From 2004 until 19 April 2006 it served as the administrative seat of Chui Region. Tokmok was established as a northern military outpost…


Cholpon-Ata is the largest town on the Northern shore of the Issyk-Kul lake, about half way along, some 250 kilometers from Bishkek. Summer always saw large numbers of tourists in one of the nearby sanatoria or tour resorts (Cholpon-Ata boasts one of the two Presidential residences on the lake), and Soviet athletes used to come…


Karakol (Каракол – black arm in Kyrgyz) is a city of about 75,000, located at 42.49 N, 78.39 E near the eastern tip of Lake Issyk-Kul in Kyrgyzstan and about 150 km from the Kyrgyz-Chinese border. It is the administrative capital of Issyk-Kul Region. History A Russian military outpost founded on 1 July 1869, Karakol grew…


Naryn is the provincial administrative center of the Naryn region in central Kyrgyzstan, with a population of 40,049 (1999). It is situated on both banks of the Naryn River, one of the main head waters of the Syr-Darya, which cuts a picturesque gorge through the town. The city has a regional museum and a hotel,…


Talas is a small town in northwestern Kyrgyzstan, located in a long valley between two imposing mountain ranges. Its population is 32,538 (as of 1999). It is the administrative headquarters of Talas region. The town was founded by East Slavic settlers in 1877. Its economy traditionally oriented towards the ancient city of Taraz (once named…


Jalalabat (also Dzhalal-Abad; since 2003 also spelled Jalalabad and Jalal-Abad) is the administrative and economic center of Jalal-Abad Region in southwestern Kyrgyzstan, with a population of about 75,000. It is situated at the north-eastern end of the Fergana valley along the Kugart river valley, in the foothills of the Babash Ata mountains, very close to…


Uzgen (Ozgen) – Some 55 kilometers north-east of Osh – with a predominantly Uzbek population and this region was the scene in 1990 of ethnic conflict between elements in the local Kyrgyz and Uzbek communities in which there was a large loss of life. There are many claims made the city, that: it has a…


Osh is an ancient city in the Fergana Valley of southern Kyrgyzstan, allegedly 3,000 years old. It has an ethnically mixed population of about 220,000 (in 2003), comprising Kyrgyz, Uzbeks and Tajiks. Serious ethnic clashes occurred here and in nearby Uzgen in 1990. Osh is the second largest city in Kyrgyzstan and is often referred…


Batken city is the center of the oblast and rayon of the same name. The town of Batken obtained its city status when it was designated the administrative center of the oblast in year 2000. The city is well known for its Batken apricots, for their taste is well known both in the republic and…

All rights reserved. 2007